Maryland law requires that all drivers have car insurance, but not everyone follows the law. According to the Insurance Information Institute, approximately 1 in 8 drivers in Maryland is uninsured. That’s why Maryland also requires drivers to have uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage as part of their car insurance. UM coverage steps in when you’re hit by an uninsured driver and covers your damages up to the policy limit. There are steps you can take to make sure your UM claim goes smoothly.
Before the Accident: Get as Much UM Insurance as You Can Afford
Maryland requires drivers to have a minimum of $30,000 in UM insurance. You are not limited by this amount, however. With the skyrocketing costs of medical bills, $30,000 may not take care of you if you’ve been seriously injured by an uninsured driver. That’s why it’s important to get extra UM insurance.
Call the Police
Even in a minor accident, a police accident report can be helpful when dealing with insurance companies. Let the police determine who they believe to be at fault.
Get the name and license plate number of the other driver involved in the accident. Take a picture of the other driver’s license. Since they don’t have insurance in our scenario, there’s no insurance information to gather.
Document the Scene
Use your phone to take pictures of the vehicles involved in the accident and the scene where the accident occurred. Take photos of any street signs or landmarks in the area.
Get Medical Treatment for Your Injuries
Even if you feel like your injuries aren’t serious, you should still be examined by a doctor. Often injuries caused by car accidents aren’t immediately apparent. Even in crashes involving minor impact, you can still sustain a serious injury. Go to the emergency room or see your primary care provider as soon as you can.
File a Claim With Your Insurance Company
Most insurance policies require that you file a claim within 30 days of the accident. It’s best to file your claim as soon as possible. If the uninsured driver is at fault, your UM coverage will kick in and cover your damages up to the policy limits.
Report the Uninsured Driver
In the interests of reducing the number of uninsured drivers on the road, you can report the uninsured driver involved in your accident to the Insurance Compliance Division of the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. The driver will have to show proof of insurance within 30 days or face the loss of their vehicle registration.
Contact an Experienced Personal Injury Attorney
Issues involving insurance and uninsured drivers can be complicated. That’s why if you’ve been injured by an uninsured motorist, you should contact an experienced personal injury attorney to help you with your claim. At Alpert Schreyer, LP we have over 30 years of experience helping injured people receive the compensation they deserve. Contact us online or call us at 1-844-MDCRASH to schedule your free consultation.