How do I report a workplace accident and file a claim? Workers’ compensation is a system in which an employer must pay, or provide insurance to pay, lost wages and medical bills for an employee who is injured on the job or is suffering from a work-related illness. With very few exceptions, every employer in the state of Maryland is required to provide workers’ compensation coverage for their employees. Workers’ comp and its regulating guidelines can be quite complex. The following is Part One in a three-part blog series on Maryland workers’ compensation. This blog will cover how to report and file a claim as well as what benefits a worker is entitled to so as to help Maryland employees who have endured an occupational-related illness or injury.
Any workplace accident should be reported right away to your employer or immediate supervisor. If the injury is severe enough where an employee may be unable to work for a period of time and may need workers’ comp coverage, a claim must be filed by filling out an Employee Claim Form and mailing it to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission (WCC). In most situations, employees who have suffered a workplace injury have only 60 days from the date of injury to file a claim with the WCC. In the case of an occupational disease, a claim must be filed within 2 years. If an employee fails to report a claim with the WCC, often the claim will be barred and benefits to the injured worker will be denied. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney can help to ensure that your claim is protected from the date of the injury until the date of the claim’s conclusion.
When and what benefits would I be entitled to? An employee who has missed 3 days of work due to their work-related injury or illness is eligible for income replacement. Benefits will be paid as long as the employee is unable to work because of the accidental injury, or until you reach maximum medical improvement. Also, any medical bills associated with the injury, such as medical bills, prescriptions, or physical therapy, are covered by workers’ compensation insurance up to the limits established by Official Maryland Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Guide.
An employee who has endured a workplace injury and is trying to recover deserves compensation, but when a claim is denied, seeking legal counsel is often one’s best option to get the benefits they are entitled to. Workers’ compensation and its regulating guidelines can be quite complex which is why one of the best ways to ensure your rights are protected is to hire an attorney experienced in Workers’ Compensation law. The workers’ compensation attorneys in Waldorf with Alpert Schreyer have years of experience handling these types of cases and can help you win your claim. Please call (844) 632-7274 for a free case evaluation.